The Professional Tester’s Manifesto

I, as a professional software tester, believe:

That standards compliance is no substitute for knowledge and skills, and that possessing a certificate demonstrates neither.

That companies have been convinced that only certified testers should be hired.

That organizations who use certification as a surrogate for rigorous selection processes place the quality of their testing at risk.

That organizations who make money from creating or promoting standards and certifications are biased in their thinking by the potential financial rewards of convincing organizations that only certified testers are professional testers. Those organizations may include those who sell training, consulting or other related services.

That testing benefits from diversity and not homogeneity: that testing is not a profession that can be standardized but instead needs to remain an intellectual professional activity.

That choosing not to be certified does not mean I do not take my profession seriously. It is because I take my profession seriously that I choose not to be certified.

Signatories

(337 through 1 January 2016)

NameTwitter Handle
Karen N. Johnson@karennjohnson
Fiona Charles@FionaCCharles
James Christie@james_christie
Ian McCowatt@imccowatt
Eric Proegler@ericproegler
James Bach@jamesmarcusbach
Jonathan Li
Kate Falanga@Squidish_QA
Henrik Andersson@henkeandersson
Natalie Bennett@bennett_nj
Rosvita Matthes
Ambrish Ganelhi
Ilari Henrik Aegerter@ilarihenrik
James St. George
Martin Hynie@vds4
Selena Delesie@sdelesie
Conall Bennett
Mike Mitchell
Kimberly T. Backiel
Jonathan D. Houland
Martin Folkoff
Stephen Carlson
J. Winston Tokuhisa@Minamoto_Genji
Jyothi Rangaiah@aarjay
Gary Miller@1030omlette
Lona Vanberg@lvanberg
Nancy Kelln@nkelln
Sherry Heinze
Christian Legget@ChristianLegget
Stephen B. Cower
Michael Corom@tnridgeback
Patrick O'Bryan
Joseph Robinson
Allen J. Scott@allenjscott357
JeanAnn Harrison@JA_Harrison
Matt Heusser@mheusser
Jeremy Carey-Dressler
Lalitkumar Bhamare@Lalitbhamare
Paul Holland@PaulHolland_TWN
Abby Banger@a_bangser
Anne-Marie Charrett@charrett
Mikael Torrberg@MTorrberg
Adam Rosenberg
Phong Phung
Gina Sabzevaki
Huib Schoots@huibschoots
Griffin Jones@Griff0Jones
Timothy J. Graham
Benjamin Kelly@benjaminkelly
Tim Coulter@timothyjcoulter
Michele Martone
Alex Bantz@alexjbantz
Geordie Keitt@geordiekeitt
Claire Moss@aclairefication
Maria Kedemo@mariakedemo
Ben Simo@QualityFrog
Willis L. Sarka
Diana Wendruff@ducksnsquirrels
Luis Espino
Josh Meier@moshjeier
Aleksandar Simic@asimic69
Aaron Hodder@AWGHodder
Adam Howard@adammhoward
Richard Robinson@richrichnz
Amy Phillips@itjustbroke
Neil Studd@neilstudd
Ranjit Shringarpure@ranjitsh
Jose Lima@joseglima
Johan Jonasson@johanjonasson
Philip Daye@philipdaye
Allen Johnson@allenjfly
Simon P. Schrijver@simonsaysnomore
Stephen Blower@badbud65
Gareth Waterhouse@gwaterhouse85
Ron Peretz
Duncan Nisbet@duncnisbet
Hilary Weaver@g33klady
Richard Bradshaw@FriendlyTester
Markus Gärtner@mgaertne
Erik Davis@erikld
Stephen Newton@SteveAN01
Rachelle Below@achelleRay
Paul Emsell@EmsellPaul
Srinivas Kadiyala@srinivasskc
Danny Dainton@dannydainton
Christian Ramirez@chrix2
Graeme Harvey@graemeRharvey
John Andrews@jwtandrews
Carlos Gil@cafegifo
Tony Bruce@tonybruce77
Dave Rutt@rutty_uk
Greet Burkels@GreetBurkels
Lee Barnes@USI_LeeBarnes
Mohinder Khosla@mpkhosla
Andreas Cederholm@A_Cederholm
Heiki Roletsky
Gary Semple@garysemple
Terry Coggins@c0gg0
Dhanasekar Subramaniam@sdhanasekar
Perze Ababa@perze
Jari Mikael Laakso@jarilaakso
Greg Johnson@johnson_greg
Zeger Van Hese@TestSideStory
Shaun Hershey@Shaun_Hershey
Nimesh Patel@qualitycaptain
Timothy Western@Veretax
David Högberg@DavidoHogberg
Sabina Simons@sabina_s_simons
Scott Griffiths@concept_testing
Jonathan Harmon
Rachel Carson@akiwitester
Jonathan Clarkin@_jrwc
Anne Jackson@annejackson2006
Ben Simo@QualityFrog
Craig McKirdy@craigmckirdy
Michael Bolton@michaelbolton
Matthew Attaway@Mataway
Nandagopal R@nandagopalr
Oliver Erlewein
Beren Van Daele
Elvir Arslanovic@Elvir_TheTester
Daniel Knott@dnlkntt
Constance Klubert
David Jonasson@davidjonasson
Anna Rapacz@QAwitch
John Stevenson@steveo1967
Mark Jones@toffeetester
Martin Thulin@Thule_87
Vernon Richards@testerfromleic
Paul Horvath@paul8620
Ellie Lock@LockEllie
Iain Mc@WhyAyeMac
Jason Baker
Lisa Crispin@lisacrispin
Eduardo Oliveira @Eduardo_SQA
Ingo Jauch@IngoJauch
Jaime Gomez
Dan Billing@thetestdoctor
Andrew O'Gorman@andrewogorman
Stephane Elie@sselie
Michael Lindqvist@michaelindqvist
Johanna Forsberg@Jo_Forsberg
Markus Wall@markustests
Erik Brickarp@brickuz
Davidson Luna@davidsonluna
Mai Nguyen
Damian Meydac Jean@damimj
Davidson Luna@davidsonluna
Jim Warchol@lakeicychill
Chris Simms@kinofrost
Bart Vanherck@vherckb
Phil Green@pg5150
Christian Saddock de Sá@christian_sa
Shachar Schiff@BadTesting
Jan Eumann@janeumann
Jokin Aspiazu@jokinaspiazu
Bruno Correa Gianello
Chris Millar@uboo11
Dag Rowe@dagrowe
Paul Berry@pmberry2007
Andy Tinkham@Andytinkham
Klaas Durk Toonen
P„r P†lhed@palhed
Eddy Bruin@eddybruin
Sunjeet Khokhar@sunjeet_khokhar
Michal Zak@zak_michal
Gagan Talwar@gagantalwar
Daniel Mazara@danmazara
Lorne Grimmer@drumfreek31
Robert Bergqvist@robertbergqvist
Gabriel Cliseru
Victor Pascual@VictorPascualV
Matt Hutchison@SQAMatt
Teri Charles@booksrg8
David Greenlees@MartialTester
Joshua Raine@raine_check
Franco Martinig@methodsandtools
Rasmus Koorits@rkoorits
Annie Rydholm@annierydholm
Andrei Hrabun
Joseph Ours@justjoehere
Dan Panachyda
Mark Rushton@ambientrushton
Ray Oei@rayoei
John Schultz@theknobboy
Timothy Alexander@dragonfyre13
Sandro Ibig@sandroibig
Darren Hails@rw_testing
Anssi Lehtelä@hellofatester
Devesh Maheshwari@demahesh
Erik Meegdes@macdash
Daniel Wiersma@testowanienl
Shweta Khot
Andreas Söderberg@aSoderb
Dwayne Scott
Steven Vore@StevenJV
Sigge Birgisson@siggeb
Daniel Lüning@DLuning
Petteri Lyytinen@plyytinen
Arushi Pant@arushipant
Dawn Feintuch@dawnfei
Kristoffer Nordström@kristoffer_nord
Joerg Sievers
Ashley Garlough@ashe_garlough
Andrew Robins
Oliver Erlewein@Oliver_NZ
Geoff Hurren@geoffhurren99
Paul Stapleton
Dilpreet Bhatia@dilpreetbhatia
Gilda o'Keeffe
Jennifer
John Pritchard
Gary Fox
Anna Kozielska
Mark Lawless@KickemTed
John Warner@shakyjohnny
Fred Beringer@fredberinger
IGNACIO GALAN
Anthony O'Rourke
Paul O'Brien
Marinela Boyadzhieva
Lada Flac
Alexandru Marchis
Nicolas E Vigo@nicolasvigo
Mark Tomlinson@mtomlins
Maryam Umar
Jim Spillson@jimspillson
Bob Galen@bobgalen
Monika Protivova@monikaprotivova
Stéphane Colson@s_colson
Mark Stewart@markst33
Vikrant Payal@vikrantpayal
Richard Bishop@richardbishop
Levente Balint@leventebalint
Justin Souto
Shane Evans@neoevans
Ben Klaasen@benklaasen
Carl Lee Shaulis@carlshaulis
Christopher Chant@choibot
Milin Patel@milinpatel17
Daniel Sayson@danielsayson
Matthew Middleton@mmiddleton
Sam Truong
Mark Tolfts@mtolfts
Christian Baumann@chrissbaumann
Tao Zhan
Gareth Watehrouse@gwaterhouse85
Peter Haworth-Langford@unlicensed2test
Shannon Harris
James Murphy@jdpmurphy
Nicholas Hall
Brett L Leonard@brettlleonard
Yael Medina
David Oreol
Uttara Sirdeshpande
Grigori Melnik@gmelnik
Maxim Mikhailov
Pushpendra Singh@Pushpendra_Jay
Pallas Langford@divadevi8808
Rishi Arora@rishi2711
John Huynh
Pilar Barrio
Michael Larsen@mkltesthead
Søren Harder
Lukas Martinak@LukasMartinak
Claire Johnstone
Emma Keaveny@EmJayKay80
Dave Harrison@davadora
Dejan Ristic
Orla Heneghan@ooorla
Erica Walker@ExactlyErica
Gerwin Rutten@GerwinR
Curtis Pettit@amtalTest
Andrew Carrington-Chappell@CarriChapp
Tom Delmonte
Elizabeth Zagroba@ezagroba
Marek Langhans@m_langhans
Marzio Cancellieri@mkancio
Markus Mohnen
Craig C Randall
Daniel Hill@RenjyaaDan
Ehan Oh@OEHAN
Viacheslav Klevchenia
Thomas Sullivan@sully1609
Jason Ogayon@_gentatsu
Göran Bakken@goranbakken
Kim Engel@kengel100
Haribabu
Rikard Edgren
Keith McFall@testkmc
Stephen Reiff
Anca Juravle
Gokhan Gogebakan
Ash Winter@northern_tester
Mike Emeigh@SWTesterAZ
Peter Bolin@bolinp_RevIT
James McCurdy
Maniappan R
Jackie Frank@jackiejackjack
Scott Marshall
Bo Roop
Sanjeev Sharma
Shantonu Sarker@sarkershantonu
Altaf@altaftwits
Dean Mackenzie@deanamackenzie
Pedro Gonzalez@pgonzalezr
Ashok Prabhu@ashokprabhut
Andy Chen@ppstay
Tomas Lindqvist@Omagadome
Chris Glättli@chrisglaettli
Karol Szewczak
Yehuda Miller@IMQueueAye
Martin Jansson@martin_jansson
Kathy Jacobs@callkathy
Christina Heckner@da_chrisa
Mark Winspear@markwinspear
Daamodar Reddy@daamooo
KC Casas@rocketkeis
Aileen Angeles Espanol
Nathalie Rooseboom de Vries van Delft@FunTESTic
Brent Huffman
Hörömpöli Erik@erikhun
K. Dacey@KADacey
Pana Victor-Florin
Sam Kaplan
Rikke Simonsen@vanilleDK
Benjamin Heinrich@benh3i
Edward Korbieh@eddiekorbz
Niels van Reijmersdal@nreijmersdal
Andy Brown@Spuckuk
Christian Subido
Satyajit Malugu@malugu
Mahmoud Sabra
Gribinyuk Nikolay@GribinyukNik
Rich Rogers@richrtesting
Joost Voskuil@joost_voskuil
Peter Varhol@pvarhol